Blind Games ~ Narrative from my Life

It was pitch black outside with the moon being completely cloaked by the clouds. The only source of light came from the light bulb on top of my head, an idea fresh in my mind. All I had to do was grab the flag from their basket and we would win our little game of Capture The Flag. “I see the flag” whispered my friend. Even in the dark I could see the bright red flag sitting in the basket, waiting to be retrieved. In an instant I ran towards the flag as fast as my legs could bare, and ferociously snatched the flag. At this point I was thinking about the idea I had. I’m going to make it. We’re going to win. My thoughts were abruptly interrupted as I tripped on what seemed like a large, hard rock. I tumbled towards the ground, still clenching the flag, and as soon as my head hit the ground, my glasses had fallen off. My eyesight isn’t exceptional and, of course, it was near pitch black outside. The moon had still not come out of hiding and at this point I knew we had lost.

My friend had ran to the spot I instructed him to go to, according to my plan. He was long gone. I started looking for my glasses, although it didn’t help that it was pitch black outside. I still had the red flag clenched in my left hand. I had to win, it was my desire. I looked around carefully, straining my eyes by squinting as hard as I could. I tried to step very carefully so I wouldn’t accidentally step on them. Eventually I heard my friend call out to me, exclaiming that the game was over. At that point I had felt heartbroken and I had the sudden urge to punch the ground, which i did. Unfortunately that blow had landed right onto the middle of the lens of my glasses. “Guys wait a minute” I proclaimed. I quickly grabbed my glasses and examined them. Thankfully no harm was done. I quickly ran towards the spot where all of my friends were and they had said that they could not play anymore. Thank God I said in my mind. Although my idea was never brought to bloom, I was glad that my glasses were alright. If only I could recall what my idea was… it seems I had forgotten.

2 thoughts on “Blind Games ~ Narrative from my Life”

  1. Dear Arsal,
    I the title of your piece is hilarious. I love it!
    I love how you talked about the human condition in your poem. The one sentence that popped out to me while reading it was, “The butterfly represents the talent, the thoughtfulness, and the beauty within the caterpillar.”
    Sincerely, Sunvy

    1. Dear Sunvy,

      Thank you so much for the compliments! Although you commented on the wrong post haha 🙂

      Sincerely, Arsal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *